I was recently worshipping distortion and feedback at an Eyehategod show when I was reminded of their forerunners, Saint Vitus, a highly influential American doom metal band from Los Angeles. Saint Vitus have been regarded as one of the first bands of the genre, along with Pentagram and Trouble. The band was formed in 1979 under the name Tyrant, with Scott Reagers (vocals), Dave Chandler (guitar), Mark Adams (bass), and Armando Acosta (drums), but soon changed their name to Saint Vitus after the song "St. Vitus' Dance" by Black Sabbath. This Barking Chicken Production focuses exclusively on the material with vocalist Scott Reagers before and after he was replaced by Wino. Many of these tunes date back to the late 1970s, but were not released until 1984 and 1985. This, my friends, is DOOOM.

Get it here:

Saint Vitus – Dooom
01 Burial At Sea
02 White Magic / Black Magic
03 War Is Our Destiny
04 Mystic Lady
05 White Stallions
06 The Psychopath
07 Prayer For The Masses
08 Darkness
09 The Walking Dead
10 Dark World
11 Let The End Begin

No comments: