Before forming Mastodon, drummer Brann Dailor and guitarist Bill Kelliher were members of the Rochester-based band Lethargy, and they played on the album ‘In the Eyes Of God’ by Today Is The Day. Mastodon was formed in late 1999 when Dailor and Kelliher moved to Atlanta and met bass bassist/singer Troy Sanders and guitarist/singer Brent Hinds at a High On Fire show. They discovered they had a mutual appreciation of sludge metal bands Melvins and Neurosis and 70s hard-rockers Thin Lizzy, and shortly thereafter formed Mastodon. Since then, each release has brought them increasing critical acclaim and mainstream success. As metaljudgment.com’s Requiem once noted, “These guys are a force of metallic catchiness and are most likely going to blow minds across the map, and multiply their fans at a rate faster than Gremlins in water.” This has proven to be true. Current rumors indicate that the band’s sound has moved in a more classic rock direction for the upcoming ‘Crack The Skye’. It is likely that this album will bring them to a new group of fans and the next level of commercial success. Whether the album is judged as a creative victory or a major sellout remains to be seen. Regardless, it will be an historic album. Chuck requested this Barking Chicken Production in order to further his studies on the ‘Prehistoric’.

Get it here:


Mastodon – Prehistoric

01 Shadows That Move

02 Welcoming War

03 Mother Puncher

04 Hail To Fire

05 March Of The Fire Ants

06 Where Strides The Behemoth

07 Trilobite

08 Iron Tusk

09 Workhorse

10 Seabeast

11 Blood And Thunder

12 Circle Cysquatch

13 Sleeping Giant

14 Megalodon

15 Aqua Dementia

16 Bladecatcher

17 Colony Of Birchmen

18 The Wolf Is Loose

19 Crystal Skull

No comments: