Portugal’s Moonspell was the perfect candidate for a Barking Chicken Production. They have been around since the early 90’s, but only periodically do they nail it with a really good album. Some albums have been better than others, but even the crap albums have something there that is unique and above average. Century Media just put out a greatest hits album a couple of years ago, but it doesn’t include tracks from the latest album ‘Night Eternal’ which is arguably their most complete effort, and it doesn’t include the sweet rerecorded material from ‘Under Satanae’. This Barking Chicken Production takes you from ‘Night Eternal’ back through time ending with “Serpent Angel,” a pre-Moonspell track written when the band was known as Morbid God. Combining black, death, gothic and folk elements, Moonspell is a juggernaut when distilled to the strongest material.

Get it here:



01 Night Eternal

02 Spring Of Rage

03 Shadow Sun

04 Finisterra

05 Everything Invaded

06 Southern Deathstyle

07 Firewalking

08 Soulsick

09 HandMadeGod

10 Opium

11 Ruin & Misery

12 Wolfshade (A Werewolf Masquerade)

13 Alma Mater

14 Tenebrarum Oratorium I

15 Serpent Angel

No comments: